Imagine Boxing Blogs

Weight Categories: Flyweight

The different weight categories in professional boxing

Posted Sep 01, 2011 by Chris White

Flyweight is the lightest category

The lightest and most recently added weight class in professional boxing, flyweight covers those fighting between 108lb (49kg) and 112lb (51kg).

Before 1909, any fighter under featherweight classification was considered to be a bantamweight, regardless of how far below the classification. In 1911, what was to become the British Boxing Board of Control held a match in which Sid Smith was crowned the world’s first flyweight champion. But it was Jimmy Wilde who was recognised as the first boxer in both Britain and America to be a flyweight champion, holding the title between 1914 and 1923.

Across the four sanctioning bodies – WBA, WBC, IBF and IBO – there are four different champions at present, being Hernan Marquez (WBA), Pongsaklek Wonjongkam (WBC), Moruti Mthalane (IBF) and Brian Viloria (WBO), with Mthalane the South African the longest reigning, holding his title since November 2009 but he has only defended his belt twice.

One of the most notable flyweight champions is Manny Pacquiao, who has since done what a number of other flyweights have done, moved up to fight at a number of different weight classes, eight in total, ranging from flyweight up to light middleweight.

Why Join Us?

We combine great social networking and excellent content, all in one place!

  • Interests

    Choose the interests you want to follow
  • Community

    Connect with friends and other sports fans
  • Content

    News, Views, Equipment Reviews, Contests & Deals
Join Now

Are you a trainer?